ABOUT

The purpose of STiLE is to provide a space where practitioners can both showcase and share their scholarly work in language education, in order to collaborate in a way that connects knowledge and practice. STiLE is designed to reflect the nature of language education as one that combines expertise in language and pedagogy, which includes both theoretically – grounded understanding and rich experience in the art of teaching. Underpinning language education as a field is adherence to educational values that result in a strong commitment to students in the classroom as the ultimate priority. It is this priority which distinguishes scholarship from research.

Recognising that knowledge is distributed and dispersed, STiLE provides a place for practitioners to connect their knowledge – both with each other and with other knowledge. STiLE is a place both to contribute to existing scholarship and to make sense of existing scholarship, including research, as it applies to teaching and learning. The potential value of scholarship for language education and applied linguistics was explained by Professor Diane Pecorari, in the Symposium celebrating the launch of STiLE on 31 May 2023. Researchers of language will find the authentic context of scholarship work useful for framing their inquiry.

PRINCIPLES


  1. By language practitioners primarily in the context of higher education

  2. For language practitioners in any context

  3. Rigorous in quality, as measured by transparent criteria expectations

  4. Linguistically inclusive

  5. Dialogic, in order to foster development of both practitioners and the wider field of language education


STiLE EDITORIAL TEAM

While each Editor has responsibility for the area named, the group also works as a team to ensure consistency of practice and standards. Editors are appointed for a fixed term. Anyone interested in becoming an editor is invited to contact any member of the STiLE Advisory Board or the President of the AHKLC. 


EDITORIAL TEAM

Melinda Whong

Melinda Whong

Editor in Chief
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology editor_in_chief@stile.hk

Mable Chan

Mable Chan

Editor (Papers and Reviews, English)
Hong Kong Baptist University editor_english@stile.hk

...

Ken Cheng

Editor (Chinese)
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University editor_chinese@stile.hk

...

Ally Xinxin Li

Editor (Chinese)
Hong Kong Baptist University editor_chinese@stile.hk

...

Sean McMinn

Editor (Plug & Play)
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology editor_plugandplay@stile.hk

...

Ryan Windsor

Editor (Plug & Play)
Lingnan University editor_plugandplay@stile.hk


EDITORIAL BOARD

Bee Bond

University of Leeds
B.Bond@leeds.ac.uk

Gavin Bui

The Hang Seng University of Hong Kong
gavinbui@hsu.edu.hk

Eric Friginal

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
eric.friginal@polyu.edu.hk

Miranda Legg

The University of Hong Kong
mglegg@hku.hk

Diane Pecorari

University of Leeds
D.Pecorari@leeds.ac.uk

Sze Wing Tang

The Chinese University of Hong Kong
swtang@cuhk.edu.hk


ADVISORY BOARD

Alessandro Benati

University College Dublin
alessandro.benati@ucd.ie

Blanche Chu

The Education University of Hong Kong
cwkchu@eduhk.hk

Wesley Curtis

City University of Hong Kong
wacurtis@cityu.edu.hk

Neil Hunt

Lingnan University
neilhunt@ln.edu.hk

Cissy Li

Hong Kong Baptist University
yxli@hkbu.edu.hk

Jane Robbins

The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
jane.robbins@polyu.edu.hk

Melinda Whong

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
lcmwhong@ust.hk


REVIEWERS

The review ethos requires that reviewers provide constructive and supportive feedback so that contributors can readily understand what changes are needed for publication. If more than one round of review is needed, one reviewer will be asked to work more closely with the contributor(s) to offer feedback for further modification.


Speech Bubble
Quote
Loading...